Forest Creek Mine

Today I took a meander around Forest Creek Mine..just out of town and a step back to the days when men were made rich or mad by their search for Gold.

Behind the mine the Prison..which was not there when the gold days were thriving..i am sure they are not breaking rocks in there though!

As much as there are old relics left there I wanted to focus on the environment at the mine..i had hoped to spot a Wallaby as we had walked the pups there last night and I didn’t have my camera on me..I think perhaps the Wallabies were hiding due to the sounds of work at the prison…I may go back on dusk another time and see if I can spot one..smaller than roos and darker with a pointier little face they are incredibly sweet.

Anyhow I captured some nice things as today we have a stunning Autumn day 22c sun shining and glorious day for a poke around an old mine!

The child in me really wanted to get down in the bottom of the cliff face and climb on the old pipes …but I fear I would get in a bit of trouble and yours truly could end up in the prison behind the mine!

I went off the ‘path’ as it was and at one stage got a little lost…a middle aged woman with a pony tail and pink ribbon..last seen scrambling through the bush hahaha…I do need to grow up!

Hope today you can see something beautiful in a past life near you..you may be surprised at just what history your own town has!

Cliff face

Cliff face

Engine House

Engine House

Glorious Gumtrees

Glorious Gumtrees

The ground is a ridge of beautiful rock

The ground is a ridge of beautiful rock

The same type of ground that we have on our property..makes for hard digging!

The same type of ground that we have on our property..makes for hard digging!

Growing at the base f the gumtree

Growing at the base f the gumtree

 

Wattles in bloom

Wattles in bloom

25 thoughts on “Forest Creek Mine

    • A lovely perfumed Aussie tree..huge varieties very hardy highly flammable and not good for people with allergies πŸ™‚ the seed has been used by Aboriginals for years to flavour damper (bread make without yeast in the ground in hot coals) and only recently the rest of us Aussies are using it and many other ‘bush foods’ πŸ™‚

      • Thankyou πŸ™‚ there are so many types..we have one called Kangaroo thorn or hedge wattle….vicious damn thorns and burns even when green ferociously ..it’s nickname is petrol plant…we have been slowly ridding the property of t an over Autumn as the restrictions lift and we can burn off you will see many pics of my scratched and battered body bwahahaah ❀ πŸ™‚

  1. Absolutely breathtaking photos Bev!!! WOW Australia is so beautiful; wild & untamed in so many ways.
    I am glad you had a good meander around & did not get lost….
    I tend to wander off paths also…there is an 8 year old inside wanting to discover new things… πŸ˜‰
    Love Sherri-Ellen xo

    • Thankyou Sherri-Ellen πŸ™‚ it is beautiful..the mines are all around us being a gold mining centre..the rosk pictures pretty well sum up what our ground is like here at home..hard to work with and why we had to add soil to our ground to try and grow anything..and why I got so despondent when summer nearly killed everything. I adore Gumtress and the patterns on their trunks those draping pieces of bark are the cause of many problesm with fires here..this type is classed as Stringy..due to the bark and they catch and fly through the air speading fire..the trees we have here are rough barked trees and as such much harder to burn..they are designed by nature to protect the trunks..we do have cool stuff sometimes πŸ™‚ and yep you and I …off road travellers πŸ™‚ Love Bev xx πŸ˜‰

  2. Off road travllers for sure Bev!!!
    I miss my ‘rambling’ days; do not have that kind of mobility anymore so live vicariously thru those who can hike & ramble!
    Such beautiful rocks…I bet the ground is hard as rock *groan* πŸ˜‰
    Those gumtrees are lovely; we have nothing like that here….
    I love taking virtual walks with you!
    Love Sherri-Ellen xo

    • Yes it is…very back breaking!! hence the time it is taking to get the fence finished for the pooches..we have 43 metres left and will have to get a tractor in to help with the post holes as the fenceline up the back is rock to the centre of the universe!!! sheesh….I am glad you come on walks with me πŸ™‚ Hugs and lovies Bev xx

  3. That is 129 feet!!! YIKES!!!!
    Good luck with that…I think Phil is amazing to even try…oh you ARE getting help…that is good.
    We have alot of clay in the soil here which makes gardening a nightmare….but nothing as serious as your bedrock…i will never complain again….ok for a week…a few days….a few hours….lol….
    Love hiking with you πŸ˜‰
    Love S-e.

    • I know!!!! a nightmare and not a cheap thing either so time money and hard work….joy of joys hahaah πŸ™‚ we had clay in one of our previous homes and yep it’s no joy either..whne we move up North it will be sand…another thrill hahaha πŸ™‚ Love that you hike with me..need a navigator πŸ˜‰ Love Bev xx

  4. Oh Lord do not follow me Bev!!! I am “directionally challenged”!!
    An Aboriginal who could not find her way out of the forest if her life depended on it…..
    I’ll just follow you ok? πŸ˜‰
    Bedrock; clay; sand…ah we got it all don’t we???
    Love Sherri-Ellen xo

  5. A very very very large compass…I don’t get lost in Owen Souund (where I live now) nor in Hamilton where I lived for 29 yrs.
    Put me in Toronto or any other large place & I am lost after 2 blocks….lol…the Fibro does not help does it???
    Dazed & confused , hahahahahaha!!!
    Love Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue too xoxoxo
    P.S.: Sorry I took so long to reply…severe pain flare due to bone disease & nerve pain 😦

    • You poor thing 😦 don’t ever apologise..for me replies and comments are a joy not a task…so when you can you can πŸ™‚ my bits are aching as the change of weather has kicked in.You rest up and try and enjoy your Passover celebrations.even if it means sleeping with a special kitty girl πŸ˜‰ love Bev xxx

  6. HI Bev! Had a blast at Temple Seder Thursday nite!
    Had to have a snack before so I could take Codeine to get thru the 3 hour service & meal. It was worth it tho’!
    Yesterday I spent all day resting with Nylablue watching “Dog & Beth” the Bounty Hunters & reading some blogs.
    Still far from caught up. I did not mention the flare up in new blog tho’. I do not want to come across as a whiner! Plus I have meant to post about Bacon/June’s gift to us from 2-3 weeks ago…
    My Sister is VERY sick with Flu & Sinusitis & she sounds on death’s door; so bang goes our weekend!!
    So just having a quiet one with Nylablue…
    Weather changes make me ache too! OY!!
    Happy Eater to all of you there.
    Love Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue too xoxo

Leave a Reply

