Chicken Sitting….because i could

Last year I was given the wonderful opportunity to Chicken sit…okay sounds bizarre but I have had chooks, as we call them Down Under, and I love them…we don’t have any at the moment until we can get a snake and fox safe area set up and I can’t bear the thought of rescuing chickens (which is how we get our girls) and losing them.

Hubby works with a woman whose parents were off to Europe and they lived not far from us.. and so the decision was made…I could have all the eggs, fruit and veg I wanted…it was a no brainer!

So…this lovely couple invited us to their house to go through the routine…I must say the property was an absolute delight..self sufficient watering systems to fruit trees and huge huge vegetable gardens and of course the chicken coop….when I say coop I mean an area filled with apple, pear,quince,walnut, and a host of other healthy fruiting trees..an area the size of maybe two large tennis courts covered in netting and completely enclosed…these girls were living the dream!!

I know this land had been worked for all of the 15 or so years as it had the same ground as us but the difference was astounding!!

The chicken coop had watering automated to the girls feeders, they had a lovely roosting box and all those trees and fallen fruit to scratch and peck around…I fell in love with this property instantly.

And as I continue this story I am sure you will fall in love with to ….

The far left corner of the outside of the coop with part of the veggie garden out front

The far left corner of the outside of the coop with part of the veggie garden out front

 

Outside the centre part of the coop

Outside the centre part of the coop

Inside the coop with the top of the roosting box just in view on the right

Inside the coop with the top of the roosting box just in view on the right

The girls

The girls

When you open the back to get the eggs there is always a girl roosting

When you open the back to get the eggs there is always a girl roosting

Little stands and seats for the girls to stand on

Little stands and seats for the girls to stand

 

16 thoughts on “Chicken Sitting….because i could

  1. Oh WOW! How beautiful. This looks like so much fun. You know how they have dogs that wrangle sheep. I could have went with you and wrangled the chickens for you. Is that a job? Snorts – anything to help you out my friend. I can be paid in a scrambled egg 🙂 XOXO – Bacon

    • Hahahaha I am an old chook myself Easy 😉 I think you would make a great chicken sitter..soon I will introduce Zozo..and I am sure you will like his style!

  2. Wow! what an amazing place, they must be some happy chickens! I quite fancy living in there myself! It must have been great fun!
    Hugs, Carrie (Myfie, Ellie and Millie) x

  3. Wow, now that is a chicken coop for sure! We have friends near us that have a half acre and she has about 10 pure bred chickens, several different breeds…we get eggs that are blue sometimes LOL She will love this post Bev

    • Thanks Linda..it was so lovely…and such a beautiful place for their girls who were all rescue chooks…I miss having chickens and when time and cash allow we will have a great set up for rescue girls..just has to be 100 percent safe from snakes and foxies…:)

Leave a Reply

